July, 19, 2014 Matt Arrington Wins at Montpelier

On Saturday night at the Montpelier Motor Speedway, the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com had another first time winner when Matt Arrington of Columbus, Ind. became the twentieth different feature winner in MTQRL history.
Arrington, driving Terry Minor’s #76X Claas Lubricants, Columbus Hose & Fittings, Drain Master, Miller Trucking, X-Tream Clean Products, Precision/Honda three-quarter midget took the lead from Nick Speidel on the sixth lap and went on to lead the final ten circuits taking the feature win ahead of Speidel, Cody Kiewitt, Matthew Hedrick and Tate Martz. 2013 Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Year Aaron Percell had a career best sixth place finish followed by Kevin Blue, Jon Steed, Tyler Wooten and Mike Paxson.
On the opening lap of the feature, Ronnie Combs barrel rolled in turn three and then two laps later Logan Arnold bicycled collecting Kevin Blue and Kenny Byrge with all three cars flipping. None of the drivers were injured but only Arnold and Blue were able to continue.
Perfect North Slopes heat race winners were Cody Kiewitt, Nick Speidel and Ronnie Combs. The Indy Race Parts Hard Charger Award went to Aaron Percell who passed nine cars in the feature, and Tyler Wooten was named the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Race.
The Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Driver Award went to Brad Coleman who in addition to having mechanical problems that prevented him from starting the feature, suffered two separate flat tires (truck and trailer) en route to the track. Roger Ramsey won the drawing for the Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate.
Cody Kiewitt continues to lead the season point standings over defending MTQRL champion Nick Speidel (-31), Matt Arrington (-48), Tate Martz (-91), and Logan Arnold (-110).
The MTQRL will be off the next two weekends and will resume its 2014 race season with a doubleheader on August 8th and 9th at the Gas City I-69 and Montpelier Motor Speedways.

Matt Arrington & crew celebrate in Victory Lane (photo by Bill Miller)

Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana