February, 08, 2014 Offseason News & Notes


The Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com is coming off a successful year of competition and is working hard in the offseason to keep the momentum going for an even better 2014.
The MTQRL began in 2008 when a group of owners and drivers became dissatisfied with the direction of three-quarter midget racing. They approached Mark and Jennifer Frechette, who had been involved in racing on the sponsorship side for many years, with the idea of starting a new league.
The Frechette’s founded the MTQRL with a vision of a “New Era in Three Quarter Midget Racing” and the league held their first event at the Decatur County Fairgrounds in Greensburg, Ind. on September 27, 2008.
Collin Ambrose would win that inaugural feature and after five full seasons of competition, seventeen others have joined him in victory lane. Tate Martz and Nick Speidel are the only drivers to clinch an MTQRL championship and are the only to have scored feature wins in each MTQRL season.
Four-time champion Martz holds the record for most wins taking the checkered flag in eighteen of the seventy-two features contested. Martz also holds the consecutive win record after he used a five-race win streak to end the 2012 season and clinch the championship.
2013 champion Speidel is second on the all-time winners list with fifteen, and holds the record for most wins in a season. Speidel set that mark last year after winning seven of twelve features. Other winners last year included Martz and first-time winners Christopher Bell, Matt Hedrick, Will Nedderman and Tanner Thorson.
Fifty-eight drivers and fifty-two cars competed with the MTQRL last year including six rookies and ten others making their first MTQRL start. With the MTQRL’s guaranteed purse and terrific sponsors over $44,500 in cash and prizes were awarded.
Prior to last season, the highest car count for an MTQRL event was twenty-nine. That mark was equaled, or surpassed, at 25% of the races last year. The season ended with an average car count of 24.77 and a high count of thirty-three at “Tony Stewart Night at the Bartholomew County Fair.”
MTQRL Race Director Greg Staab is busy finalizing the 2014 schedule with fourteen races already signed and confirmed. He is negotiating additional dates with other tracks and hopes to have a schedule of approximately twenty races released at the March Pre Season Meeting.


Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana