October, 12, 2013 Matt Hedrick Takes Funfest Win at Brownstown Speedway

The Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com ended the 2013 race season on Saturday night October 12th at the Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Ind. Twenty-seven three-quarter midgets were on hand raising the average car count for the MTQRL’s fifth season to a very respectable 24.77 cars per race.
Matt Hedrick was the night’s Elwood Sanitarium Haunted Attraction Polesitter and led the field to green to start the 20-lap feature followed by Logan Arnold and Nick Speidel. On lap five Speidel got around Arnold and began to reel in race leader Hedrick. Hedrick was able to maintain his lead until the caution waived on lap 13 for Ron Hamm’s spin in turn four.
On the restart Speidel dove low in turn one momentarily taking the lead. Hedrick countered in turn two going under Speidel and entered the backstretch as the race leader. Speidel was never able to get close enough to challenge for the lead again and Hedrick cruised to the first feature win of his career followed by Speidel, Bobby Walton, Arnold and Chris Mann. Robbie Roland, Caleb Faulkner, Jon Steed, Jamie Ross and Craig Eaglin rounded out the top ten.
Roland was the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger after passing twelve cars on the way to his sixth place finish and the Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Driver Award went to Tristan Maggart who spun from sixth place on the final lap.
Perfect North Slopes heat wins went to Hedrick, Arnold and Speidel and Dustin Wheeldon won the semi feature. Roland won the Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate via a random drawing at the drivers meeting.
The MTQRL will honor 2013 champions Nick & Joe Speidel at its Annual Awards Banquet on November 2nd at the Hampton Inn in Greensburg, Ind. Awards will be presented to the top fifteen owners and drivers along with several special awards including the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Year and the MTQRL Spirit Award. A banquet ticket order form is available on the Schedule page of the MTQRL website.
For more information on the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com please visit our website www.mtqrl.com or Like us on Facebook at “Midwest TQ Racing League.”

Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana