September, 14, 2013 Nick Speidel Clinches Championship at Montpelier

Nick Speidel’s dream season continued Saturday night when the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com competed at the Montpelier Motor Speedway in Montpelier, Ind.
The 29-year old driver from Muncie, Ind. finished the night in a place that that has become very familiar to him this year, victory lane. Speidel, driving his father Joe’s #21 Precision/Honda three-quarter midget, not only won the battle but also the war as he scored his record breaking seventh feature win of the season and clinched the 2013 MTQRL Championships for both himself and his father.
Elwood Sanitarium Haunted Attraction Polesitter Tristan Maggart would lead the twenty-one car field to the green and would pace the first two circuits over fellow front row starter Rick Robinson. Robinson took over the point on lap three with Speidel, who started seventh, passing Maggart on lap five.
As Robinson encountered lapped traffic on the eighth lap Speidel made his move and took the lead. Lapped traffic continued to thwart Robinson and Bobby Walton took over the runner up spot five laps later. Speidel would go on to lead the final thirteen circuits to score the win followed by Bobby Walton, Rick Robinson, Jon Steed and Logan Arnold. Kyle May, Tristan Maggart, Kevin Blue, Dustin Wheeldon and Rob Walton rounded out the top ten.
Steed was the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger after storming through the field and advancing twelve positions, and Ron Hamm received an American Racer tire for his fourteenth place finish.
The Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Driver award went to Brent Hankins who suffered a blown engine on the opening lap of the feature. Larry Kiewitt won the drawing for the $50 Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate in the drivers meeting and Leslie Souviner’s thirteenth place finish was the best of the three rookie drivers and she was named the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Race.
The twenty-three car field was split into three Perfect North Slopes heat races with Nick Speidel (over Cody Kiewitt and Tristan Maggart), Chris Mann (over Matt Hedrick ad Rick Robinson) and Brett Hankins (over Aaron Percell and Bobby Walton) scoring the wins.
Four-time and defending champion Tate Martz came into the evening with a mathematical chance of retaining his title but mechanical problems in his heat race saw his title hopes come to an end.
The MTQRL and its many sponsors, in an effort to give its competitors an incentive to travel and compete at the Montpelier Motor Speedway, initiated a point fund to be distributed evenly between all car owners who participated at every Montpelier race.
Five races were originally scheduled with Mother Nature intervening and causing four of those to be rained out. The MTQRL was able to procure two rain dates and three races were contested. Thirty-two cars competed at those events with an average car count of 21.33.
Thirteen car owners participated at every race and will split the $1,200 fund equally. Owners with perfect attendance were Glen & Chris Maggart (08), Roger Ramsey (1), Steed Motorsports (7), Steed Motorsports (8), Ron Hamm (10), Sam Hankins (14), Joe Speidel (21), Kyle May & J Parks (39), Kevin & Angie Arnold (43), Danny Percell (48), Larry Kiewitt (60), David Miller (76), and Doug Roland (78).
The MTQRL wishes to thank its sponsors Jenmarco.com, Jackson Oil & Solvents, Duane & Sonja Alexander, Tony Stewart Racing, Perfect North Slopes, RacePhoto1.com, Gunslinger, Elwood Sanitarium Haunted Attraction, Earl’s Indy, American Racer, Pace Performance Coatings, Indy Race Parts, JetStar and the Tony Stewart Foundation.
The next and final race on the 2013 MTQRL schedule will be “Fun Fest” on October 12th at the Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Ind. The MTQRL will then close out the year with their annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony on November 2nd at the Hampton Inn in Greensburg, Ind. Check the MTQRL website as the events near for more details.

Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana