September, 07, 2013 Speidel & Williamson Win at Shelbyville

Records were broken on Saturday night September 7th when the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com made their final appearance of the season at the Shelby County Fairgrounds in Shelbyville, Ind.
Four-time and defending MTQRL champion Tate Martz of Rushville started the night off by setting a new track record and Muncie’s Nick Speidel finished the nights racing activities parked in victory lane for his record breaking sixth feature win of the year.
Martz, driving Roger Ramsey’s #1 Old Canal Smokehouse Beast/Honda, bested the twenty-nine car field with a lap of 16.965 seconds in qualifications breaking his old track record by nearly 2/10ths of a second.
The fastest four qualifiers then competed in the Jackson Oil & Solvents Duel for Fuel with Speidel outdueling Brett Hankins, Martz and Kevin Blue for the win. Hankins’ second place finish clinched the Jackson Oil & Solvents Duel for Fuel championship for himself and his car owner and father Sam Hankins.
An inversion of eight for the feature would see Elwood Sanitarium Haunted Attraction Polesitter Chad Hankins lead the field to green. Outside front row starter Chris Mann would take the point at the start of the race leading the first six laps before mechanical issues forced him to retire.
Speidel, driving his father Joe’s #21 Precision/Honda, took the lead after Mann’s misfortunes and pulled away for his fourteenth MTQRL feature win of his career over Brett Hankins, Rick Robinson, Ronnie Combs and Will Nedderman. Robbie Roland, Bobby Walton, Matt Hedrick, Cody Kiewitt and Tristan Maggart rounded out the top ten.
Perfect North Slopes heat winners were Martz, Hedrick, Logan Arnold and Speidel. Kiewitt won the semi feature.
The Indy Race Parts Hard Charger was Robbie Roland after passing nine cars in the feature and Aaron Percell was the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Race. Mann received the $50 Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Award after breaking his ring and pinion while leading the feature.
Steed Motorsports and driver Bobby Walton won the Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate and Kevin Blue’s 12th place feature finish earned him the American Racer gift certificate.
In 600cc nonwing sidewinder micro sprint action Shane Williamson led all ten laps to take the win over Josh Daughtery, Callie Wolsiffer and Colten Dooley. Williamson and Wolsiffer won the heat races.
Just two races remain on the MTQRL schedule with a total of 270 points up for grabs. Speidel will take a 165 point lead over Martz into the next race, September 14th at the Montpelier Motor Speedway in Montpelier, Ind.

Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana